Home

The Thyl.

IMG_0003The Brussels Artists’ House

The Thyl is an art gallery established in a historic house in the heart of Brussels. It allows artists and designers who wish to show their work there to welcome their customers and friends in an authentic setting. They can stay in conditions similar to those that gripped the 19th century small industrious middle-class.

Sommaire

Location

History

Missions

The name

Location

Back top the top of the page

The gallery is housed at 14 rue des Eperonniers

This street is parallel to the south side of the Great Market. It is between the St. Jean square and the Marché aux Herbes square.

This little house (4x5m, 2 floors) is a few minutes’ walk from Central Station.

This railway station provides access, to Zaventem International airport in the North in just quarter of an hour, and in a few minutes to the South Station in the South, a hub for the high-speed trains connecting Brussels to Paris, Amsterdam, Cologne and London.

Public transport networks (Metro, STIB, De Lijn) have stops nearby.

It is not possible to mention all the museums, cultural sites (Opera, Fine Arts, the Royal Library, the Cinémathèque, theaters …), Schools (the Royal Conservatory of Music, the School of Fine Arts, …), the Convention Center, restaurants, cinemas located right next because they are so numerous.

History

Back top the top of the page

The Eperonniers street can be found on the Ferraris map (1777) (section 76).

At one end of the street the first University Medical School of the city was opened by Joseph II in 1788 at Saint John’s hospital. Its activity will continue until its demolition in 1848.

Its disappearance is accompanied by a real estate project from which remains the Bortier gallery (which still houses bookshops and art galleries) and Saint Hubert gallery (where many luxurious shops can be found).

Between 1790 and 1860, coal mining and the steel industry enabled Belgium to be the second biggest industrial power in the world, only preceded by The United Kingdom.

IMG_2465In 1815 the farmers from Waterloo and Braine surged towards Brussels, ruined by the mass grave organized in their fields.

In 1830, following religious incompatibilities, the former South United Provinces split from the Kingdom of the Netherlands to create Belgium.

The house at No.14 was built in 1820 on the site of a small garden which preceded another building of which only the front remains. A porch and a row of windows have been preserved. Openings for communication with the neighboring houses were built through the side walls.

IMG_0008Building materials are certainly recycled, very long and variously shaped “Spanish” bricks, and beams. Saw-cuts and billhook knocks are still visible.

The building was first dedicated to the making of sculpted pipes.

Our predecessors were less well fed than us; their small size explains why we hit our heads when climbing the 1860 stairs furnished. The front shop window and the vaults to the cellar were placed that same year.

Quite close, the People’s House designed by Horta for the Belgian Labour Party was inaugurated in 1899 (POB was created in April 1885 at the Maison du Cygne, Grand Place). Its destruction in 1965 remains a heartbreak to many.

In 1896 Dr Ovide Decroly works at the Eperonniers Clinic (No. 42-44). In 1901, it is at 51 rue des Eperonniers, Alexandra David Neel has her “Pour la vie” printed.

Advertising postcards kept in the City Archives are a reminder that jewelry were manufactured at No 2 and 20, records and other office equipment at No 3, knives at No 4 (this will later become a shop for luxury weapons), shoes at No 7, umbrellas and canes At No 10 and 20, artificial flowers at No 32, bronzes for buildings at the 65-67, 5. There was a wood dealer at No 16 ( artificial flowers will also be manufactured there at “In the perpetual Spring “), a hairdresser at No 18, a cloth and ties merchant at No 19, a printer at No 25, a hotel” Du Grand Café ‘ at No 24-26, a carpenter at No 29, haberdasheries at No 28 and 40.

bruxelles_6_20130503_1570533125[1]On the other end of the street, the St Roch district dating back to the Middle-Ages is replaced by the gardens of the Mont des Arts because of a universal exhibition in 1910. It is lined with artists’ studios, walk that some remember with delight. Under the pretext of another exhibition they will be replaced in 1957 by massive buildings.

In 1952 the work connecting the South, Central and North railway stations are finally completed, leaving in the center a dreadful scar.

At the same time the walk that led to the Bois de la Cambre (the Avenue Louise, Longchamps and Law) are transformed into urban motorways.

In 1944 Belgium initiates the Benelux which will lead to the European Coal and Steel Community in 1951 and later to the European Union, which elects to house its institutions in Brussels in 1965.

The NATO headquarters have also been based in the city since 1966.

Political turmoil in the 1960s has developed civil services in Brussels.

A milliner dwelled at No 14 until 1976.

There was only one water point in the cellar together with a heap of coal. Each floor had its own fireplace.

A first renovation eliminated false ceilings and partitions added over decades. The rediscovered structure was rehabilitated.

From 1982-1998 a bookstore “the Bateau Livre” and its extension, the website “Cinérivage” (Françoise De Paepe) was a matrix for many moviegoers.

At No 57 the publishing house “La Jeune Parque” (Jacques Antoine) closed in 1975. After the death of André Roche in 1989, the theater “L’Ile Saint Louis,” ended its performances. The bookstore “La Proue” (Henri Mercier) at No 6 closed down in 1992.

At No 14 another renovation (front and chimney, as well as the roof that threatened to topple into the street) became unavoidable.

In subsequent years, unscrupulous tenants left the house ravaged together with years of unpaid bills.

Mission

Back top the top of the page

IMG_0012A home just like any shelter, is a tool. It provides a showcase opening on a city that welcomes visitors from around the world. It is a melting pot where ideas are catalyzed by meetings.

Access by car to the city center is not easy to say the least. Commuters often waste several hours to get in and out of it. Car parks are expensive.

A pedestrian area is growing gradually. It allows everyone to walk, look around, chat without being upset by nauseating backfiring cars. Eperonniers street is on its current threshold.

To accommodate the possible is to leave hope or a future. Imagination is born out of necessity. Survival often depends on finding an idea. Make a project rise from nothing was the hallmark of those creators who preceded us and remains the essence of us artisans. The artists more particularly share with us glances, impulses towards dreams and hope.

In this conjunction it seemed appropriate to offer this house as a place of welcome and freedom.

Name

Back top the top of the page

       Thyl is the first name of the legendary hero created by Charles de Coster. His name “Uylenspiegel” means in Flemish, “owl and mirror” which, figuratively evokes the  Γνῶθι σεαυτόν at the temple of Delphi.       His story speaks of transgression, rebellion against that power which seems inevitable and that ultimately is these ideas collected along our roads sticking to our skin, forming screens, blinding us to life and its beauty.

Accueil

IMG_0022La Maison des Artistes à Bruxelles

Le Thyl est une galerie d’art située dans une maison historique du cœur de Bruxelles. Elle permet aux artistes et concepteurs qui y exposent d’accueillir leurs clients et amis dans un cadre authentique. Ils peuvent y séjourner dans des conditions voisines de celles que connut la petite bourgeoisie industrieuse du 19ème siècle.

Sommaire

Localisation

Histoire

Missions

Le nom

Localisation

Retour en haut de la page

La galerie est hébergée au 14 de la rue des Eperonniers.

Cette rue est parallèle au côté sud de la Grand Place. Elle va, de la place Saint Jean à la place Marché aux Herbes.

Cette petite maison (4x5m, 2 étages) se trouve à quelques minutes à pied de la gare centrale.

Celle-ci permet de rejoindre vers le Nord, en un quart d’heure, l’aéroport international de Zaventem. Ainsi que vers le Sud et en quelques minutes la gare du Midi, étape des trains à grande vitesse gagnant rapidement Paris, Amsterdam, Cologne et Londres.

Les réseaux de transport en commun (Metro, STIB, De Lijn) ont leurs arrêts à proximité.

Il n’est pas possible de citer tous les musées, les lieux de culture (l’Opéra, les Beaux Arts, la Bibliothèque royale, la Cinémathèque, les théâtres…), les Ecoles( le Conservatoire royal de musique, l’Ecole des Beaux Arts,…), le Palais des Congrès, les restaurants, les cinémas se trouvant tout à côté tant ils sont nombreux.

.

Histoire

Retour en haut de la page

La carte Ferraris (1777) permet de bien retrouver la rue des Eperonniers (section 76).

A une extrémité de la rue la première faculté de médecine de la ville a été ouverte par Joseph II en 1788 à l’hôpital Saint Jean. Son activité se poursuivra jusqu’à sa démolition en 1848.

Sa disparition s’accompagne d’un projet immobilier dont il demeure les galeries Bortier (qui abrite encore bouquinistes et galeries d’art) et Saint Hubert (où se trouvent de nombreuses et luxueuses boutiques).

Entre 1790 et 1860, l’exploitation du charbon et de l’acier permet à la Belgique d’être, derrière le Royaume Uni, la seconde puissance industrielle au monde.

De Braine et Waterloo les paysans ruinés par le charnier organisé dans leurs champs en 1815 refluent vers la ville.

Suite à des incompatibilités religieuses les anciennes Provinces Unies du Sud se séparent du royaume des Pays-Bas pour former la Belgique en 1830.

thyl3La maison du 14 a été construite en 1820 à l’emplacement d’un petit jardin qui précédait un autre immeuble dont il ne reste que la façade. Un porche et une succession de fenêtres sont encore bien visibles. Des ouvertures permettant de communiquer avec les maisons voisines ont été aménagées dans les murs latéraux.

Les matériaux de construction, des briques « espagnoles », très longues et de formes toutes différentes et des poutres où les traits des scieurs de long et des serpes se voient encore bien, sont certainement de récupération.

La première activité à y avoir été réalisée est la fabrique de pipes d’écume.

Nos prédécesseurs étaient moins bien nourris que nous : leurs petites tailles font que nous nous cognons la tête en gravissant l’escalier aménagé en 1860. La devanture, et les voussettes de la cave ont été placés la même année.

Fort près la Maison du Peuple, dessinée par Horta pour le Parti Ouvrier belge est inaugurée en 1899 (le POB a été constitué en avril 1885 à la Maison du Cygne, Grand Place). Sa destruction en 1965 reste une déchirure pour beaucoup.

En 1896 Le Dr Ovide Decroly travaille à la Clinique des Eperonniers (n° 42-44).

En 1901, c’est au 51 rue des Eperonniers, qu’Alexandra David Neel fait imprimer son « Pour la vie ».

Des cartes postales publicitaires conservées aux Archives de la Ville rappellent que des bijoux étaient fabriqués au 2 et au 20, des registres et autre matériel de bureau au 3, des couteaux au 4 (cela deviendra un magasin d’armes de luxe), des chaussures au 7, des parapluies et des cannes aux 10 et 20, des fleurs artificielles au 32, des bronzes pour bâtiments aux 65-67, 5. Il y avait un boisselier au 16 (il y sera aussi fabriqué des fleurs artificielles « Au Printemps perpétuel »), un coiffeur au 18, un marchand d’étoffes et cravates au 19, un imprimeur au 25, un hôtel « Du Grand Café » aux 24-26, un menuisier au 29, des merceries aux 28 et 40.

IMG_fA l’autre extrémité de la rue une exposition universelle, en 1910, fait remplacer le quartier St Roch remontant au Moyen Age, par les jardins du Mont des Arts, bordés d’ateliers d’artistes, promenade dont certains se souviennent avec ravissement. Au prétexte d’une autre exposition ils seront remplacés en 1957 par des bâtiments massifs.

En 1952 les travaux de la jonction , reliant les gares du Midi à celle du Nord en passant par la Centrale, se terminent enfin, laissant au centre ville une balafre blafarde.

A la même époque les promenades qui menaient vers le bois de la Cambre (les av Louise, Longchamps et Loi) sont transformées en autoroutes urbaines.

En 1944 la Belgique initie le Benelux qui sera le moteur, en 1951, de la Communauté économique du charbon et de l’acier puis de l’Union européenne qui loge ses Institutions à Bruxelles en 1965.

Le quartier général de l’OTAN y siège également depuis 1966.

Les déchirements politiques ont, dans les années 1960, multiplié les administrations à Bruxelles.

Une fabricante de chapeaux a occupé le 14 jusqu’en 1976.

Il n’y avait qu’un point d’eau, à la cave. S’y trouvait aussi un tas de charbon. A chaque étage il y avait une cheminée.

Une première rénovation a dégagé les faux plafonds et les cloisons accumulées au cours des décennies. La structure réapparue a été remise en état.

tumblr_mjw0ukeLYn1rionq1o1_1280[1]De 1982 à 1998 une bouquinerie « le Bateau Livre » et son prolongement, le site « Cinérivage » (Françoise De Paepe) fut une matrice pour beaucoup de cinéphiles.

Au 57, les éditions « La Jeune Parque » (Jacques Antoine) ferment en 1975.

Au 5, le théâtre de « L’Ile Saint Louis », avec la mort d’André Roche en 1989, achève ses représentations.

La librairie « La Proue » (Henri Mercier), au 6 s’arrête en 1992.

Au 14 une nouvelle rénovation (façade et cheminée, ainsi que le toit menaçant de basculer dans la rue) s’imposa.

Les années suivantes, des locataires indélicats laissèrent, outre une ardoise de plusieurs années, la maison dévastée.

Missions

Retour en haut de la page

Une maison, comme tout abri, est un outil. Celle-ci offre une vitrine ouvrant sur une ville qui accueille des visiteurs du monde entier. Elle est un creuset où les idées sont catalysées par les rencontres.

L’accès en voiture du centre ville n’est pas des plus aisé. Les navetteurs perdent souvent plusieurs heures pour y entrer et en ressortir. Le parking y est onéreux.

Un piétonnier s’agrandit progressivement. Il permet à chacun de marcher, de regarder autour de lui, de converser sans être agressé par les pétarades nauséabondes des automobiles à explosion. La rue des Eperonniers se trouve à sa limite actuelle.

Ménager les possibles c’est laisser un espoir d’au-delà. L’imagination nait de la nécessité. Survivre souvent dépend de trouver une idée. De rien faire jaillir un projet, un service ou un objet a été l’œuvre de ces créateurs qui nous précédèrent et reste l’essence des artisans que nous sommes. Les artistes plus particulièrement nous partagent des regards, des élans vers les rêves et l’espoir.

De cette conjonction il nous a semblé opportun de proposer cette maison comme lieu d’accueil et de liberté.

Le nom

Retour en haut de la page

Thyl est le prénom du héros légendaire imaginé par Charles de Coster. Son nom, Uylenspiegel signifie en flamand, « chouette et miroir » qui, au figuré, nous évoque le Γνῶθι σεαυτόν du temple de Delphes.

Son récit nous parle de transgression, de révolte contre ce pouvoir qui parait inéluctable et, qui, finalement, est ces idées reçues le long de nos chemins, qui nous collent à la peau et qui, formant écrans, nous empêchent de voir la vie et sa beauté.